grumpy man

Sometimes after I finish a book and it is time to choose my next one, I am tempted to go back and reread one of my favorites.  I’m always torn though.  There are so many new books out there that I haven’t read so how can I justify rereading something I’ve already read.  I feel like I’m not using my time wisely.  Basically, I feel guilty.

I have a friend that rereads books all the time.  In fact, her goal this year is to reread many books and series she loves.  When I asked her how she feels about rereading her old favorites as opposed to reading something new her response was, “It is like comfort food.  Whenever I have a lot going on in my life, I know I can return to my favorites and get a little down time.”

I’ve decided to devote this post to the books that I want to reread.  I’m sure I’ll leave some out, but this will at least be a good start.  I’m hoping to reread a couple of books this year, but I think I’m going to have to force myself to do it.  I know once I start it won’t be a problem because I’ll love it, but taking that initial step is going to be hard.

Here is what I want to reread:

1. FREAK SHOW by James St. James
2. CITY OF BONES by Cassandra Clare
3. CITY OF ASHES by Cassandra Clare
4. CITY OF GLASS by Cassandra Clare
5. SHADOW KISS by Richelle Mead
6. GLASS HOUSE by Rachel Caine (and the others in the series)
7. HUNGER GAMES by Suzanne Collins
8. JESSICA’S GUIDE TO DATING ON THE DARK SIDE by Beth Fantasky
9. THE ADORATION OF JENNA FOX by Mary E. Pearson
10. FAIRY TALE by Cyn Balog
11. WONDROUS STRANGE by Lesley Livingston
12. KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO by Patrick Ness
13. FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH by Carrie Ryan
14. EVERNIGHT by Claudia Gray
15. STARGAZER by Claudia Gray
16. SWOON by Nina Malkin
17. SEA CHANGE by Aimee Friedman
18. WINGS by Aprilynn Pike
19. COFFEEHOUSE ANGEL by Suzanne Selfors
20. INTERTWINED by Gena Showalter
21. UNWIND by Neal Shusterman
22. UGLIES by Scott Westerfeld

See what I mean?  Right now I read about 10 – 11 books a month so my rereading list consists of 2 months of my year.  How can I justify that?  Grrrrr.

I’m interested in hearing what everyone else thinks about the issue of rereading.  Please leave a comment and share your thoughts.

